Submission to Local Boundary Commission in relation to Claremorris Municipal Authority.

To whom it may concern,

I have been a member of Ballinrobe Electoral Area since 2004 and was elected to the Claremorris area and Claremorris Municipal Authority in successive elections. The Claremorris Municipal Authority, is a seven-seater area, and I would urge you to change this to a six-seater as was in previous terms due to the spread of the area from Shrule to Doocastle, a 70 mile radius.

There has been a suggestion that the town of Ballinrobe be moved to the West Mayo Municipal Authority, which I personally feel would be ludicrous. As it currently is, the town is best served in the Claremorris area.

I would also like to make reference to the parish of Kilcommon, Carras and Robeen. These areas were divided into the South Mayo/Galway West constituency in relation to national boundary changes. Under the most recent review, these were returned to the Mayo Constituency and I am requesting that a similar situation now pertains, ie one third of the Robeen parish is currently in the Castlebar Municipal Authority and I am requesting they are returned to the Claremorris authority in accordance with my submission to have the six seater situation that previously pertained under the 2009 Claremorris Municipal Area, ie for the 2009 local elections. In order for this to happen, because of the intense geography of the county and the demise of population in the northern half of the county in the recent census,

Yours sincerely Cllr Patsy O Brien Mayo